Congrats Are In Order: Shonda Rhimes Set To Be Inducted Into TV Hall Of Fame

Congratulations are in order for aunty Shonda. The celebrated show creator of Grey’s Anatomy, Scandal, and How to Get Away with Murder will be inducted into the 2018 Television Hall of Fame. 

via Page Six:

The 2017 honorees include John Wells, Shonda Rhimes, and art director/production designer Roy Christopher. Joan Rivers will also receive a posthumous honor for her groundbreaking work.

The entire original cast of “Saturday Night Live,” which includes Emmy nominees and winners Dan Aykroyd, John Belushi, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Garrett Morris, Laraine Newman, and Gilda Radner, will also be honored at the ceremony, which will be held on Nov. 15 at the Television Academy’s Saban Media Center.

Hall of Fame recognition is given to “persons who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences or management of television, via career contributions and achievements.”

“All of these individuals are innovators who have shaped television and left an indelible mark on the medium and our culture,” said Hayma Washington, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy. “We are honored to welcome the latest group of distinguished individuals and look forward to showcasing their impacts for future generations.”

“Television’s evolution can be attributed to the substantial work of numerous individuals,” said Rick Rosen, head of television for WME and chair of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee. “It is a pleasure to honor a group whose contributions have had and will continue to have a powerful influence on our ever exciting and evolving industry.”

Along with Rosen, this year’s selection committee included producer Marcy Carsey; NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment Group chairman Bonnie Hammer; The Fred Silverman Company founder Fred Silverman; and former CBS Entertainment president Nina Tassler.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *